Locally Sourced or Made Food Products, What do you Consider "Local"?  

1 member has voted

1. 1. What does "local" sourced food mean to you?

• Within 25 miles of point of purchase
    • Within 50 miles of point of purchase
    • Within 100 miles of point of purchase
    • Within 250 miles of point of purchase
    • Within the state being sold
    • Within the state being sold, and the nearest touching state
    • Anything within "three states touching"
  2. 2. Do you consider "local" on a label to indicate point of purchase, or large town or city nearby, or your home?

• Local to me means from the point of sale for each restaurant or store
    • Local to me means from the nearest large city - for example, So Many Miles from St. Louis
    • I define local, as where I live, not where the store or restaurant is

I work in the food industry and some businesses are taking advantage of the grey area on the definition of what "Local" or "Locally Sourced" actually means.    The other day, I was in a meeting, and the buyer asked me what my definition of "local" meant..   I shared a recent experience I had, listed below: